Lies, Damn lies and Statistics

I was at the International friendly Rugby match between Ireland and South Africa at the weekend. It has been a while since I was at one. We had a birds eye view of the action and I was observing the ebb and flow of the action. Ireland were leading at half time but it seemed like they were getting frustrated and losing hope. I could spot the moment in the 2nd half which was a “now or never”. A score would mean potentially another but failure would mean an effective end of the game. The home crowd was getting behind Ireland but the South Africans were just too physical and pushed the Irish back. Ireland lost the lead and never scored again. They were deflated and defeated.

I read this in the Sunday Times yesterday. It reminded me of some of the work on Statistics I am doing. Clive Woodward is the former English rugby coach who brought his team to world cup glory in 2003:

Leave a Reply

